What I've Learned: Red Auerbach

Go down

What I've Learned:  Red Auerbach Empty What I've Learned: Red Auerbach

Post by bobheckler Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:42 pm

An interview with Red, Esquire Magazine, in 2000.  I bolded my favorite parts.  I realized I was starting to bold them all, so I backed off a bit.

http://www.esquire.com/features/what-ive-learned/learned-red-auerbach-1200

November 30, 2000, 10:00 PM
What I've Learned: Red Auerbach

Basketball coach, 83, Washington, DC

BY CHARLES P. PIERCE

If you're keeping score, win.

I was a coach who listened. I had guys when I was coaching who were in their thirties, like Cousy, Havlicek, Russell, all those guys. They were very bright. I've got to be stupid, as a coach, not to utilize their intelligence.

I don't ever want a guy to say to me, when I tell him to do something, "Why?"

Power is ego.

Bill Russell was an emotional guy with a great mind. You could fool him once, but you'd never fool him twice.

You play as you practice.

You've got to avoid overcoaching. You've got to avoid talking too much. You've got to avoid showing players that you're the boss every time. You don't have to do that. They know you're in charge.

If you're comfortable in a situation, stick with it.

You got to be lucky. Like, for example, one time in the seventh game of a playoff, somebody took a shot -- I think it was Nelson or Ramsey or Sam -- and it hit the backboard, hit the rim, rolled around, went in, and made me a hell of a coach. You know what I mean?

God? I don't want to go into that.

You want an occasional beer, go ahead. But stay off the hard stuff.

What bugs me quite a bit is to have a coach whose team is twenty points ahead with three minutes to go, and he's up there coaching and moving and making all of those kinds of things [waves hands], and -- why? Because he thinks he's on TV. The game is over. He should sit his ass down and relax.

For every hundred autographs you sign, the one you don't sign, you're a louse.