+3
Sam
tjmakz
dbrown4
7 posters

Go down

Rondo and Worlds Exit Empty Rondo and Worlds Exit

Post by dbrown4 Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:45 am

Well, it appears the press is cracking down again on guards that don't have a consistent mid-range jumper and can't make free throws.

I'm a little surprised at Coach K on this one, even though he didn't "cut" Rondo and he knows infinitely more about international basketball than I do and what works. I hope Rondo will take it in stride and not let it affect his season coming up in any way.

True, we've discussed ad nauseum his free throws and mid-range game or lack there of. I still think of Rondo as a NorthWest Quardrant kind of player. Where can I get the greatest reward for the least risk? Dazzling fake passes combined with unexpected, unpredictable moves resulting in open lanes and lay-ups. For as many times as he is in the lane, he certainly doesn't trek to the free throw line as much as LeBron does for And 1's.

That's why I'm always amazed with his 3D's. It never seems like he did all that in a game when you look back because the Celtics always play team ball. Now he does take some hits that look really painful. But he's right back in the lane on the next play.

Is anybody watching the USA Team? I have to say I have not been watching, but I guess the real action starts soon. Now that Rondo is gone, I probably won't watch it, sorry to say.

I'm glad Rondo cut his perceived loses. Always the risk of injury. This season coming up is huge. While playing would have helped, I'm not seeing the ultimate benefit(s) for Rondo at this time.
dbrown4
dbrown4

Back to top Go down

Rondo and Worlds Exit Empty Re: Rondo and Worlds Exit

Post by tjmakz Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:50 am

dbrown,

Besides Rondo's lack of a consistent outside game, another reason for Rondo's exit was that the referees are constantly calling traveling calls that aren't traveling in the NBA, NCAA or anywhere in the US.