Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves

5 posters

Go down

Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves Empty Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves

Post by bobheckler Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:36 pm

Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves

January 16, 1973

Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves 197301160BUF

bob
MY NOTE:  Randy Smith with 27.  He held the record for most consecutive games played, 909, for two decades (finally broken by Laker A.C. Green, probably better known for his faith-based call for celibacy.  Who knows?  Maybe women really do weaken legs? Seems like a small price to pay, to me, but then I'm not a professional athlete).  Randy Smith passed away at age 60 in 2009 from a heart attack while working out.

bobheckler
bobheckler

Back to top Go down

Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves Empty Re: Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves

Post by Sloopjohnb Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:36 pm

I remember Bob Kauffman.  Six foot eight block of granite with whom Dave Cowens got into a couple of fist fights.  I seem to recall one game when both guys sat on their benches after punches were thrown with towels pressed against the gashes on their bleeding faces.  No suspensions of course.  Those were the days when men were men.

That Braves frontline of Kauffman, Bob McAdoo and Elmore Smith must have been, with the exception of McAdoo, one of the most ponderous in league history.  

No way could any of them even dream of covering Hondo.

Randy Smith--RIP-- I recall as one of the early super athletic small guys.  People were blown away back then when he dunked on much larger players.

Last edited by Sloopjohnb on Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:41 pm; edited 2 times in total

Sloopjohnb

Back to top Go down

Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves Empty Re: Lex Nihil Novi - Hondo's 33 Lead Celtics Past Braves

Post by Sloopjohnb Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:39 pm