+6
bobheckler
cowens/oldschool
Sam
tardust
Matty
10 posters

Go down

Jamal Crawford intriguing option for Celtics Empty Jamal Crawford intriguing option for Celtics

Post by 112288 Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:31 pm

CSNE

Would Jamal Crawford consider Boston?

If I were Danny Ainge: Garnett, trade up, bench help
Bob Ryan and Steve Buckley list the moves they'd make if they ran the Boston Celtics this offseason

BOSTON — The Boston Celtics will indeed be in the market this summer for a veteran shooting guard, and Jamal Crawford just might fit the bill.

The 32-year-old combo guard told a Seattle television station on Thursday that he would not opt-in to the final year of his contract with Portland, which means he'll be an unrestricted free agent this summer.

"I'm a free agent, so I'm excited about what's there moving forward," Crawford told Seattle television station KING. "There will be a lot of teams out there with a lot of interest. I'll sit back after July 1 (the day free agency begins) and see what happens."

In his lone season with Portland, the 6-foot-5 guard averaged 14 points while shooting just 38-percent from the field and a career-low 30.8 percent on three-pointers.

His availability gives the Celtics yet another option as they enter the summer with significant cap space and significant questions as to how the team will be built moving forward.

The Celtics would love to have Ray Allen come back and resume the role he had in the second half of the season as a backup to Avery Bradley.

While Allen accepted the role, it wasn't one he totally embraced. It is unclear if he would be willing to return under those same conditions, and with what would likely be a one-year contract.

Having had his name involved in trade rumors the past couple of years, the soon-to-be-37-year-old Allen (his birthday is July 20) appears to be seeking a two-year deal.