Post Game Thread - Bubble Game 1, vs Bucks 7/31/20

+2
worcester
bobheckler
6 posters

Go down

Post Game Thread - Bubble Game 1, vs Bucks 7/31/20 Empty Post Game Thread - Bubble Game 1, vs Bucks 7/31/20

Post by bobheckler Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:44 am

Finally!  REAL, meaningful basketball is back.

We started off down 2-17.  Missing open shots and they were running layup drills and hitting their shots.  I thought we showed well by coming back and taking 1 point leads 2X in the game.  As we have said many times over the last few years we cannot have ice cold starts and not get bit in the ass.

Jayson Tatum had the worst game as a professional I can remember.  He was 2-18, and one of those fgm was a accidental put in by the Bucks.  They had to give credit for the points to the nearest Celtic and, because Jayson Tatum was the slowest back on defense, he was the nearest.  That made him, actually, 1-17.  He looked extremely tentative with his shots.  They were all bricks, no rimming around and almost going in, just way off.  On defense he made the same bad decisions about staying in front of Giannis again and again and again, and paid for it.  I'm not worried about him, he'll turn it around maybe next game, but he was awful last night.  If he had even a mediocre game we would have won.

Or forget about Tatum's nightmare, let's talk about Kemba Walker.  He only played 19 minutes, all in the first half.  He had 16 points on 5-9, 3-6 from 3.  If this was the playoffs he would have played some in the 2nd half, wouldn't he?  If he played even 25 minutes total, at his first half's efficiency, that would be good for another 5 points.  We lost by 7, and the refs missed a goal tend that should have been 2 more points for us.  See where I'm going with this?  If either one of our top 2 players had either not stunk the joint up or played solid rotation minutes (much less starter minutes) we would have beaten them.  There's no need to panic.