tjmakz
Sam
MDCelticsFan
beat
dbrown4
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Jordan's, Barkley's, Magic's, etc. Response to LBJ/Miami Empty Jordan's, Barkley's, Magic's, etc. Response to LBJ/Miami

Post by dbrown4 Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:13 am

Michael's recent comments on ESPN.com have to hit and sting LBJ at least a little bit. To have your idol question your move has to send up some kind of red flag in LeBron's mind. But in fine Jordan, ambassador-like fashion, he couched/balanced his response by saying that's just what's available in the NBA today. And don't count Michael out of trying something like this or better going forward down here in Charlotte, NC. He's going to have to change his mindset from the '90's method to do it, though.

This is what happens legally in a situation that was started innocently by the Celtics. Going forward, teams will push everything right up to the edge before a new law/ruling gets passed to contain it. By trade or by draft or by FA, what Miami did was in the ballpark and above board. Any team can do this. We tried something legally and it worked. The next question is first, how do you combat it as a team or teams currently looking from the outside and then secondly, can you come up with anything better within the confines of NBA law?

I wonder what LBJ's response will be to Michael? Of course now, though, Michael and his past methods of winning championships are "Old School". This is the new NBA. BTW, when will David Stern retire?

Personally, in 5-10 years after this plays out with no changes in CBA/Owners wishes, etc., putting 5 Rondo-like players starting (~$10MM a piece) is where this is headed. 5 near-All Stars will crush 3 All-Stars and trash most if not all the time, IMHBAO. Just more ego swallowing, that's all. Perfect for the Celtics.
dbrown4
dbrown4

Back to top Go down

Jordan's, Barkley's, Magic's, etc. Response to LBJ/Miami Empty Re: Jordan's, Barkley's, Magic's, etc. Response to LBJ/Miami