Bob Cousy and the Wonderfully Primitive Days of Professional Basketball."

4 posters

Go down

Bob Cousy and the Wonderfully Primitive Days of Professional Basketball." Empty Bob Cousy and the Wonderfully Primitive Days of Professional Basketball."

Post by Sam Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:18 pm

Following is an article about Bob Cousy that I shocked myself by successfully googling. It's from the March 1, 1955, issue of Sport Magazine, and it was written by one of Boston's great writers on baseball, basketball and hockey—Al Hirshberg. (Among many other books he authored was "Feat Strikes Out," the story of Jimmy Piersall that was made into a very successful movie.)

I've described, on the "Friends and (roster) foes" thread, how I've been seeking a copy of the article for nearly six decades, and I'm very proud to be sharing it with the board. If any single piece describes what the Celtics and pro basketball represented to me and how inspired I was by the Celtics (and The Cooz in particular) in the pre-Russell years, this is it.

Sam

http://www.thesportgallery.com/blog/sport-articles/around-the-circuit-with-the-wizard-of-pro-basketball-bob-cousy/

1953 Mar1 Around the Circuit with the Wizard of Pro Basketball: Bob Cousy Roommate: By Al Hirshberg