babyskyhook
LACELTFAN
gyso
jeb
mrkleen09
14 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

LAKERS SEEKING BOSH IN TRADE! Empty LAKERS SEEKING BOSH IN TRADE!

Post by 112288 Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:10 pm

Lakers’ deal for Raptors star has a shot
Last Updated: 7:32 AM, January 10, 2010
Posted: 3:32 AM, January 10, 2010
PRINT EMAIL
RSS
Peter Vecsey
HOOP DU JOUR
As promised, today’s column is pure basketball, triggered by trade winds.
A Lakers source told me the team had its sights set high, as usual, and planned to target the possible acquisition of Chris Bosh when it got closer to the 3 p.m. Feb. 18 trade deadline, and the Raptors might be more likely to move their Olympian/All-Star while still entitled to compensation.
It commonly is believed Bosh almost certain is to flee Toronto after this season, when he has the right to opt out of the final year ($17.1 million) of his contract.
My source believes the Lakers will offer Andrew Bynum for Bosh (if they haven’t done so already) well before the deadline expires. In itself, the one-for-one swap is impossible to make. Bynum’s “base year” essentially allows L.A. to take back but half of his salary this year ($12.5M). Of course, that restriction is lifted when next year’s salary ($13.7M) activates come July 1, at which time a sign-and-trade transaction would be feasible.

AP
Chris Bosh

The possibility of such a deal makes sense to me. First of all, Bynum is a legit starting center for the defending champions. He also has three years left on his contract after this one.
As for the Raptors, despite the severe offseason roster renovation, they’re not giving any indication of being more than just a one-and-done playoff group this season and in the foreseeable future.
What’s Bosh’s motivation to stay? Clearly, management’s sense of urgency to protect its principal asset cannot be accentuated enough. If that’s impractical, the organization cannot afford to lose Bosh without receiving equitable compensation.